Ashtanga yoga is a concept and approach to self-knowledge in which it is organized into eight limbs. Asht means eight and anga means part or members. Sri Patanjali, a great sage of ancient India, left his legacy of yoga. In his famous and widespread text called Yoga Sutra, in the second chapter entitled Sadhana pada (the discipline) the author talks about yoga as a process of purification and access to what is most essential in us, spirituality. And for that, Ashtanga Yoga becomes the methodology that allows us to purify and access our divine essence. Below is a description of the eight limbs of Ashtanga Yoga:
Yama: the prescriptions
Nyama: the observations
Asana: the physical posture
Pranayama: energy control via breathing
Pratyahara: Attention turned inward.
Dharana: Inward Concentration
Dhyana: Meditation
Samadhi: The trance
The term yoga has always existed since ancient times in the ancestral culture of India better known as Aryan or Vedic Culture. But at some point schools (darshanas) or lines of thought in India established themselves to form what we have today as Sat Darshanas, or six traditional orthodox schools in India. The three most popular ones being the Sankhya left by the sage Kápila Muni, the Vedanta left by the sage Vyasadeva and Yoga left by the sage Sri Patanjali.
In this way, yoga ceases to be a concept that refers to the connection with the Divine, and also becomes a formal and systematized approach called Ashtanga Yoga by Sri Patanjali.

Junior By Jay

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Iniciar conversa
Atendimento Goura Shala
Olá 👋
Podemos ajudá-lo?